TWD: Best Ever Brownies

This weeks recipe couldn’t have fallen on a better week. My parents 40th anniversary was Sunday. They are the hardest people to buy for and I wasn’t really sure what to go about getting them for an anniversary so I settled on making them a traditional midwestern dinner of meatloaf with potatoes & carrots, dinner rolls (awesome recipe I found here) and for desert I made them these fantastic brownies.

Brownies were always a staple around our house growing up, but they always came from a box. I could take them or leave them, but my chocolate loving grandmother, mom, brother, and dad would feast on them immediately after they came out of the oven, burning their fingers and tongues in the process.  Needless to say brownies never stuck around long. As my brother got older, it was the one thing that he would always make. My mom has been complaining quite a bit about how the portions in the brownie mixes keep getting smaller and smaller and I think this recipe was the perfect solution to the problem. As I mentioned earlier I have never been a huge fan of them, so never really thought about making them from scratch, but with this recipe I will always do so from here on out. I have a feeling with two little boys and one chocolate lover husband, this will become another family tradition.

As you can see I had a killer helper. My two year old wants to help with everything and I must say I am consistenly amazed with how well he does in the kitchen.

The recipe says that they may end up being pretty gooey if you cook them at the time suggested. I am not a big gooey brownie fan, therefore I cooked my quite a bit longer. It was probably an extra 15 minutes. They were still really soft, but not as loose as some of the other posters.

I also thought about adding some things to the recipe, but I really wanted to make them the way they were originally written first. Here are the things I will change next time; add a cup of walnuts or pecans, and some chocolate chips, or even better add some homemade carmel. I am a carmel and butterscotch freak so that will be my first experiment.

The recipe can be found at this weeks host site here: A Beautiful Mess

4 thoughts on “TWD: Best Ever Brownies

Leave a Reply

