TWD: Chocolate Truffle Tartlets

Well this recipe went pretty well all things considered. I had planned to have the better part of the afternoon to work on this, but life got in the way and I had to cook dinner and simultaneously work on the tarts. My husband was hoping to make beer this evening, but that was put on the back-burner.

I knew this would be a complex recipe, but didn’t realize how many steps there were! Also my biggest mistake was thinking I had bittersweet chocolate, but in actuality had unsweetened. I tried to resolve this by adding 1Tbls sugar per ounce of chocolate during the melting stage, but this of course caused it to get gritty. I got upset thinking this was it, that the filling was going to be grainy in texture and ruined, but after mixing with the yolks and it cooked, it worked out perfectly. No grittiness at all.

Rolling out the dough. Went pretty smoothly, it was very crumbly out of the processer, bu after molding and getting refrigerated it came together quite well.

The finished tart shells, before going in the oven.

.

Chopping chocolate, and the melting stage

Mixing the yolk mixture into the chocolate and getting ready to add the biscotti, white and milk chocolate.

Final result. I think it went well, my husband ate two. 🙂

 

If interested in the recipe you can find it at the host site: Spike Bakes

4 thoughts on “TWD: Chocolate Truffle Tartlets

Leave a Reply

