TWD: Pizza Rustica

This weekend my husband and I took a much needed long weekend to ourselves and traveled down south. On our way back, while listening to a Spendid Table  episode which was discussing baking techniques I suddenly realized it was a Tuesday. Luckily we made it back by 8pm and I had plenty of time to get everything made, put together, and cooked before it got too late.

I love making pie, so this was an easy one. I had everything made and the kitchen clean a half an hour from starting. I have to admit, I was very nervous about the sugar in the dough. I almost completely omitted it, but figured I might as well try it and see. After tasting the final product I loved the filling, but am still not sold on the sweet savory combo here. Perhaps my palette is not refined enough, but normally I love sweet and salty together. Not here. I think this would be delicious with a sweeter pie filling like a raspberry sugar cream or a lemon custard, but I don’t think I will be doing it again with the ricotta filling. This is actually the first thing I haven’t loved yet. Oh well, at least I tried it. 🙂

4 thoughts on “TWD: Pizza Rustica

  1. It looks lovely.
    I enjoyed the sweet salty combo, but I can see where it woudln’t be for everyone. I am more impressed that you started it so late at night.

Leave a Reply

