TWD: Lemon Loaf

This one was a bit tricky because I wasn’t as prepared as I should have been. First of all I didn’t have cake flour, so my husband ran out to get me some…meanwhile Irealized I forgot to check if there was anything else I needed. Whoops…didn’t have any heavy cream. Too late to worry about calling him, I decided to check the internet for a substitute and found the recommendation to try 1/3 c. melted butter to 3/4 c. milk and figured it was worth a try. Another thing that I wasn’t prepared for was that my husband collected our hens eggs much earlier in the day than usual so I didn’t have any warm eggs to use. We have one hen brooding and he contemplated stealing her eggs, but it broke my heart a bit to do. My solution, was to use a heating pad to warm up the refrigerated ones. I am actually pretty impressed with myself here because it worked very well. Good to keep in mind for the future.

Warming the eggs up.

Zesting the lemons…I never know how much to zest? All the way down through the rind or just the outside yellow portion?

The recipe went pretty well, except after mixing up my heavy cream substitute I forgot to cut it in half (I had made enough to equal one cup). After mixing it all together I thought the batter was a bit thin, but figured it was simply because it lacked the heaviness of the cream. I put it in the pan, in the oven, and then walked out of the kitchen quickly realizing too late that I put double the amount of liquid I should have. Oh well, I figured the worse thing that could happen would be that it would fall, which it didn’t and luckily I managed to get by.

I totally stole this weeks hosts idea of glazing the bread and using candied lemons on top. I thought it was gorgeous, although my didn’t turn out quite as pretty. Here’s her link if interested in the recipe: Treats

 

Iced and ready to go. I haven’t tried it yet, but it looks great and seemed to set up just fine despite all my mishaps. Am looking forward to it in the morning with a cup of coffee.

6 thoughts on “TWD: Lemon Loaf

  1. Very pretty – I like the extra step of the candied lemon.
    Zesting – you only want the colored part on the skin. The white pith is biiter tasting and it won’t make you smile. Just go gentle & you should be ok!

  2. Gorgeous loaf! Great idea to use a heating pad. I too forgot to bring my ingredients to room temp. I put my eggs and cream in a bowl of warm water for a few minutes. Works great too!

Leave a Reply

