TWD: Nectarine (or Apple) Chiffon Upside Down Cake

Well we have had an eventful last few weeks. We brought home our new little bundle of joy 12 days ago, a perfect little baby boy, Jude.  Needless to say it has been a week and a half of everyone adjusting. Us, our older son, and two dogs. It’s so strange getting used to another little baby in the house. You forget how tiny they are.

S0…completing this recipe was a huge accomplishment in my mind. I found this to be one of the more challenging recipes so far. Both the amount of steps and the process. I always tend to have problems with the cake recipes…they usually fail in one way or another. I had a few initial issues…I  accidentally added all of the sugar to the cake flour recipe and didn’t feel like throwing it out so I just added another 1/2 cup to the egg white mixture and figured it would be a little sweeter. Also I didn’t read carefully enough and added an egg white to the wet side of the cake mixture before realizing it should have been two egg yolks, but figured it might balance out the extra sugar I already added. So I just added the yolks and hoped it all worked out. You can definitely tell the lack of sleep is doing a job on my brain.

I am not sure if the 10″ springform pan I chose was too small or what, but the cake mixture ended up being way too much. I actually filled a whole other cake pan with the extra mixture. The cake ended up overflowing over the springform pan as well. After it cooled I just carefully cut off the bubbled top and then it released just fine. I was actually pretty surprised with how well it ended up looking considering its appearance after it came out of the oven.

I used apples here because our apple trees are on their last leg and I feel extremely guilty that I haven’t canned more applesauce , made more apple pies, and generally have neglected them all summer. It was delicious. I would definitely make this again, but next time on more sleep.

8 thoughts on “TWD: Nectarine (or Apple) Chiffon Upside Down Cake

  1. Congrats on your new little one. I think you did a great job on this cake. I had plenty of sleep and still made a few blunders. But luckily the cake seems quite forgiving and we enjoyed it.

  2. Congratulations! I am impressed that you managed this cake with a newborn in the house. Apples would be delicious with this recipe.

  3. I am so impressed that you managed to find the time to bake this, having just had your baby. Congratulations! We will make this cake again ourselves, using apples. That sound like a lovely combination for Fall.

  4. Congrats! I’m amazed that you tackled this baking project so soon after baby arrived! I forgot a lot of things doing this recipe and I don’t even have a good excuse.

Leave a Reply

