TWD: French Apple Tart

frenchappletart

Normally…when I do these recipes I try to be as honest and true to the recipe that I can be. I don’t leave any butter out, I don’t substitute yogurt for sour cream….none of that business, however today is a little different.

I am co teaching a class right now on fitness and nutritional eating. Generally I eat very well, lots of veggies, very little meat, and low carbs, but I LOVE to bake. I will bake anything and everything that I find that sounds good. I eat a little bit and then give away the rest. I have no idea what spawns this obsession, in a way it almost can become torturous, but it makes me happy so I won’t stop.

Since I am expecting the student to be eating healthy and nutritious, in good faith I couldn’t make this recipe in tact and feel okay about it. So I am making an exception from my true to the recipe rule. And here I really did flip it around.

But I must say, I loved this! I am actually going to take the rest into the students tomorrow so they can try it. Additionally I am thinking I might make a berry version for a demo as well. (My dad , an incredibly picky eater, ate a slice of this tonight and he even thought it was ‘pretty good!’)

If you want the original recipe check it out at: http://www.kitchenlaw.blogspot.com/

Here are my alterations –

For the Crust:

1 Cup Pecans

1 Cup Almonds

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ginger

1 Cup Medjool Dates

In food processor, blend nuts and spices until finely ground. Add Medjool dates (Make sure to remove seeds, if not seedless) until mixture is finely processed. Press mixture into bottom and up at least 2 inches up the side of a tart or springform pan that has been lined with parchment.

Filling:

6 cored and peeled Granny smith apples

1/3 cup Maple syrup

Mix apples and syrup and roast in the oven a 400 degrees for 25 minutes. Put apples in food processor and blend until mixture becomes smooth. Pour mixture into tart crust and smooth.

Topping:

2 Cored and peeled apples, thinly sliced

Apricot jam

Starting on the outside ring of the tart, lay apples in concentric circles until top has been completely covered. Carefully ‘paint’ the apricot jam over apples. Bake in oven at 375 degrees for 25 minutes or until top begins to slightly brown.

3 thoughts on “TWD: French Apple Tart

  1. I am definitely going to try your recipe for the crust; very creative! My husband is trying to do low carb/Paleo and me making this tart kind of temporarily ruined it for him.

Leave a Reply

